top of page


Award Nominations

VFP will offer five awards this year. Four of the five awards are for individuals with the fifth award going to Chapter of the Year.
Award nominations will close on July 27th!

Read more about the award categories below.

Award Categories

The Gandhian Non-Violence Award 
The Veterans For Peace Gandhian Non-Violence Award is given to a member who best exemplifies the qualities of compassion and selfless service according to Mohandas K. Gandhi’s philosophy that the highest form of service is rooted in love and non-violence and “the best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in service to others.” Ideal candidates for the award would include members who give themselves unselfishly in service to others in their personal lives, and in their communities. This award is may also open be given posthumously to Veteran or Associate members who have passed away since the previous convention submission deadline.

Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement AwardThe Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed upon the personsomeone who, during over their lifetime, have has made significant and ongoing outstanding contributions to the cause of peace. This individual will have also made exceptional efforts to increase public awareness of the costs of war (via activism, teaching, writing, lecturing, the arts, music, film, stage, screen, or radio).

Service and Stewardship Award  The Service and Stewardship award is given to an individual or group who/which has performed exemplary service in support of the livelihoods well-being of veterans and their families while, advance advancing the culture of peace in their local communities, nationally,  or internationally.

Leadership in Peace Award

The Leadership in Peace Award is given to the a person or an organization that has displays displayed initiative, inclusiveness, and tirelessness and persistence in moving the mission of Veterans For Peace forward, either locally, nationally, and/or internationally.

Chapter of the Year Award 

The VFP Chapter of the Year Award is awarded each year to theuplifts the work of those  chapters which that best exemplifyies the five criteria of set forth by the awards committee (media exposure, honors, chapter growth, community service, and activism). Chapters will are invited to self-report their activities to the awards committee on a form provided here.


bottom of page